So first off… I’m back!  Apologies for the absence in reviews over the last few months, reading had taken a backseat whilst I was on maternity leave.  However I’m now back on the commute and reading is back on, and I thought what better way to kick off 2018 then revisiting one of Compelling Reads favourite authors C L Taylor.

 

As regular readers of our blog will know we’ve lost ourselves in C L Taylor’s books before and love it when she releases a new one!  The Escape is no different…

 

Here we meet Jo, Jo suffers from anxiety and agoraphobia, we learn that this stems from the loss of her first child.  Although she is still plagued by her anxieties she has set up coping methods which enable her to carry on with her job and look after her daughter Elise.  Jo’s anxieties are heightened however when a rather startling meeting with a woman she meets on the way to picking up her daughter from nursery who makes a thinly veiled threat to her daughter.

 

As the book progresses the strange woman Paula seems to trouble Jo more and more as it’s clear she is after something, something to do with Jo’s husband.  Although her husband appears at first to be long suffering and doing his best to settle Jo’s anxieties, soon Jo’s world seems to tumble around her as the threats turn to actions and even her husband loses patience with her “anxiety” and makes a case to have her daughter taken away.

 

As Jo goes on the run with her daughter determined to prove her innocence the book is gripping, we find ourselves in a tension filled page turner that hurtles towards it’s conclusion.  C L Taylor really knows how to make a thrilling read from a domestic viewpoint, always allowing you to identify with the main character in some way and get you routing for them.  The Escape is once again an unputdownable read!  More like this please!

The Escape Book Cover The Escape
C L Taylor
23rd March 2017
Kindle
432

The Sunday Times bestseller returns with her most thrilling book yet, An unputdownable read for fans of Into the Water and The Girlfriend.

"Look after your daughter's things. And your daughter…"

When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn't.

The stranger knows Jo's name, she knows her husband Max and she's got a glove belonging to Jo's two year old daughter Elise.

What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo's own husband turn against her.

No one believes that Elise is in danger. But Jo knows there's only one way to keep her child safe – RUN.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This