Behind Her eyes – Sarah Pinborough

Behind Her eyes – Sarah Pinborough

With thanks to the publishers for allowing us an advance copy of this book to review through Netgalley.  I was intrigued by the description for this book – which follows 3 main characters.

When Louise falls for a guy she meets on a rare night on, things don’t go far but he is first guy she’s had an interest in since her divorce she is mortified when she goes into work to find out David is her new boss, and married to the very beautiful Adele.

Louise vows to remain proffessional at work and when she bumps into Adele and is drawn into being friends with her the situation becomes difficult.  It’s clear that David is unhappy in the marriage and he too is drawn to Louise, and it’s also obvious that Adele has issues of her own.  But the secrets the couple are hiding are massive and keeps them together, while also breaking them apart.  Being in the middle Louise finds herself in an increasingly dangerous situation.

There are plenty of twists and turns to this plot and it’ll keep you turning the pages to unravel the many puzzel pieces that Adele and David web in this book – you can’t help but feel for Louise as the book reaches it’s distrubing conclusion.  I have to say that personally although there is a really great twist to the ending – for me this might have been a bit of a step too far to the twists, but none the less you won’t want to put this one down!

Behind Her Eyes Book Cover Behind Her Eyes
Sarah Pinborough
HarperCollins
26th January 2017
384

Don’t trust this book. Don’t trust this story. Don’t trust yourself.

Lying In Wait – Liz Nugent

Lying In Wait – Liz Nugent

With thanks to the publishers for allowing us a copy of Liz Nugent’s Lying In wait in exchange for review – billed by Stylist as ‘For fans of Gone Girl… It twists, it turns, it is a compulsive triumph,’ we couldn’t resist getting lost in the pages of this one!

The book brings us the story of Lydia, accustomed to the good life, she lives in a big house with her loving husband and her son.  But there is something missing for Lydia which she wants to make her life complete and unfortunately the need for it leads to murder, a murder that overshadows her son’s life.  Lydia is a complex character who it is clear from the outset is able to compartmentalise her feelings and is determined to get her own way whatever the cost.  As the plot moves on through the years this plays a big part dominating her son’s life and it’s clear there is somewhat of a sinister side to this mum, whose obsession with her son may be all too much.

On the other side of the tale is a family who are effected by the loss of their daughter and sister, left wondering if she is alive or dead and never giving up hope that she may be found or the killer bought to justice.  But ironically the one helping them is the son of the murderers, and as the plot becomes complicated with the feelings Laurence has, this is a story as a reader you know can’t end well.

A truly dark and gripping novel, which will keep you hanging till the very end! Loved it!

 

Lying In Wait Book Cover Lying In Wait
Liz Nugent
Penguin
26th December 2016
kindle

Lying in Wait tells the story of Lydia Fitzsimons who lives in the perfect house with her adoring husband and beloved son. There is just one thing Lydia yearns for to make her perfect life complete, though the last thing she expects is that pursuing it will lead to murder. However, needs must – because nothing can stop this mother from getting what she wants…

Good Me Bad Me – Ali Land

Good Me Bad Me – Ali Land

When I saw this book promoted on Netgalley in a swirl of praise I was eager to check out what all the fuss was about.

Annie has a new name and a new home and a big secret.  Annie’s mum is a serial killer, caught because Annie herself turned her into the police, now placed with a family while the trial begins she is finding it hard to fit in whilst dealing with the terrible things she’s experienced.  Her life is made tougher because the daughter of her carers is a bully who sees her as a new target, as she vents the frustration she feels due to issues at home.

The narrative of this story is absolutely chilling and creeps under your skin – it’s a difficult story to step away from, with very chilling plot lines.  You feel sympathy towards Annie as she struggles with being her mother’s daughter, but then at times you’re left wondering whether she is too much of her mother’s daughter.

Without a doubt this book is set to be a hit this year, it’ll leave you with chills

Good Me Bad Me Book Cover Good Me Bad Me
Ali Land
Penguin
12th January 2017
Kindle
352

'NEW NAME .NEW FAMILY.SHINY.NEW.ME.'Annie's mother is a serial killer.The only way she can make it stop is to hand her in to the police.But out of sight is not out of mind.As her mother's trial looms, the secrets of her past won't let Annie sleep, even with a new foster family and name - Milly.A fresh start. Now, surely, she can be whoever she wants to be.But Milly's mother is a serial killer. And blood is thicker than water.Good me, bad me.She is, after all, her mother's daughter...

Saving Sophie – Sam Carrington

Saving Sophie – Sam Carrington

When Sophie is returned home to her parents by the police after a night out with her friends a little worse for wear her parents are understandingly concerned.  More so her mother Karen who is dealing with issues following an attack on herself which has left her with panic attacks and a fear of going out, who is worries on what could’ve happened to her daughter in her inebriated state.

it seems Karen’s fears are justified when it is discovered that Sophie’s friends Erin’s body is discovered close to where Sophie was picked up.  The police and Erin’s mother are eager to know what Sophie remembers sbut she has no memory of the evening’s events and her friends are also keeping quiet.

Could it be that Sophie was involved with the murder or is she herself a target?

This was a very clever plot idea, which has plenty of twists and turns that will keep you glued to the page.  Everyone of the group of friends could be considered a suspect at points of this story and it was difficult to see what was ahead.

Loved how the story developed, but I was little disappointed with the very last part of the ending where the story comes full circle for Sophie and her mother.  But a wonderful gripping crime plot (& I’d love to see this adapted for TV)

Saving Sophie Book Cover Saving Sophie
Sam Carrington
Maze
12th August 2016
Kindle
300

A teenage girl is missing. Is your daughter involved, or is she next?

Your daughter is in danger. But can you trust her?

When Karen Finch’s seventeen-year-old daughter Sophie arrives home after a night out, drunk and accompanied by police officers, no one is smiling the morning after. But Sophie remembers nothing about how she got into such a state.

Twelve hours later, Sophie’s friend Amy has still not returned home. Then the body of a young woman is found.

Karen is sure that Sophie knows more than she is letting on. But Karen has her own demons to fight. She struggles to go beyond her own door without a panic attack.

As she becomes convinced that Sophie is not only involved but also in danger, Karen must confront her own anxieties to stop whoever killed one young girl moving on to another – Sophie.

A taut psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and I Let You Go.

The Night Book –  Richard Madeley

The Night Book – Richard Madeley

Having enjoyed the last two books from Richard Madeley I was eager to see what his third book would bring.  Departing from the characters of his last books this is a new setting – deep in the heatwave of 1976 a spate of drownings are happening.  Swimmers are warned to be careful in the water and its become the job of new guy Seb to be the face of the news story.  Still on probation this is the story that could be his big break.

Meanwhile agony aunt Meriel is dealing with issues within her marriage – to the outside world she’s in a happy marriage but the reality is somewhat different.  Meriel is in fact dealing with escalating abuse from her husband, but is worried that revealing this to the world and breaking free from her marriage could bring about the end of her career – could there be any way of escaping this marriage?  When she meets Seb there is an immediate attraction between the pair and she glimpses some hope on the horizon.  Meriel also has a dark secret, as a way of coping with the abuse from her husband she’s began a book she calls “The Night Book” hidden in the house it contains some disturbing thoughts of violence towards her husband, and if ever found the consequences could be damning.

This book was easily engaging and I was instantly drawn to both main characters and could sympathise to both stories.  I loved the idea behind the drownings and how this led into the main crime of the plot.  By setting up the characters first before the crime, you really were debating whether the crime was justified in some ways, but the way Meriel acts is also interesting and you do question whether she is so cold, that perhaps she could strike again.

I was left wondering at the end whether there could be a happy ever after and would be very interested in a sequel to this story.  Another fabulously written and engaging story!

The Night Book Book Cover The Night Book
Richard Madeley
Simon & Schuster UK
30th June 2016
Paperback
464

From the author of the bestselling Some Day I’ll Find You comes a novel of dark suspense set in the Lake District where, beneath the inviting water of the lakes, danger and death are waiting.
The summer of 1976 was unprecedented in living memory. Days of blazing sunshine bled into weeks and months. In the Lake District, Cumbria’s mountains and valleys began to resemble a Grecian landscape. People swam in delightfully tropic waters to cool off. But, barely three feet below the surface, the temperature remained just a degree or so above freezing. As the summer blazed on, the drownings began…
What if someone wanted to take revenge? To remove an abusive, controlling partner from their life? When and where better to stage a murder and pass it off as an accidental drowning?

River Road – Carol Goodman

River Road – Carol Goodman

When college Lecturer Nan Lewis is driving home a little drunk and upset having lost tenure she takes the corner of river road a little less cautious than normal and hits a deer.  Stopping to find out if the deer is ok she goes into the wood but soon passes out returning to her car and home the next day she finds her favourite student has been found dead, on the same stretch of road where she hit the deer.. it was a deer right?  It also happens to be the same road where her daughter was killed a few years earlier.
As suspicion falls on Nan and her friends and neighbours turn against her she is forced to doubt herself and then those around her.  The story has many twists and turns as others are doused in suspicion and as clues are uncovered the book reaches a climatic ending which you won’t see coming.

The plot is very fast paced and instantly had me engaged and awaiting what was to come.  It was great that in with the drama there was also some light for Nan as she gets close to policeman Joe.

I’m sure this won’t be the last time I read a book from this author.

River Road Book Cover River Road
Carol Goodman
Titan Books
19th January 2016
Paperback
400

It came out of nowhere... Driving home in a snowstorm, Nan Lewis hits something with her car. She s sure it s a deer. What else could it be? Then one of her students is found dead, the victim of a hit and run. And there is blood on Nan's tyres. As friends and neighbours turn on her, and she starts finding disturbing tokens that recall the killing of her own daughter, Nan begins to suspect that the two deaths are connected ...

Pin It on Pinterest