Guilty is a deliciously gripping psychological thriller. Guilty begins with a prologue setting the scene and was from the off a book unlike any I have read in recent months. At first we are introduced to the Lawson family, consisting of Constance and her parents, her uncle Karl, aunt and cousin. Constance disappears following an argument with her parents over attending a concert with her Uncle Karl, who immediately becomes prime suspect in the case, thanks to the media frenzy created by journalist Amanda.

We then learn more about Amanda, discovering her secrets and learning more about the things which have motivated her and driven her in her role as a crime journalist. As the book continues we rejoin Amanda, but have skipped forward 6 years to see she has become a media star, married to a rich man and expecting a baby. Life should be perfect. But Amanda soon discovers she has made enemies who are out for revenge and plan on taking her and her idyllic life down. is it coincidental and does it have anything to do with the cold and chilling destruction of Karl’s reputation?

Guilty is a gripping, thrilling read which took me on a whirlwind of discovery. Plot twists and turns galore kept the book fresh and exciting. With realistic, believable and complex characters, such as the cold and calculating journalist Amanda and Karl, who couldn’t help but win me over as I discovered more about his marriage and the destruction caused by Amanda’s media slaying of him following the disappearance of his Niece Constance.

Guilty was a satisfying and enjoyable read which kept me hooked with its fresh take on the psychological thriller and the impact the media and social media have on our lives and the influences they have. I really enjoyed the search for Constance and the way this was handled and how suspense was built throughout, revenge is sweet. This is one heck of a page turner!

 

About the author
Laura Elliot is an Irish novelist and lives in the coastal town of Malahide, Co. Dublin. She loves travelling. The beautiful South Island of New Zealand was the inspiration for her setting in The Prodigal Sister. The Burren in County Clare became the mysterious setting for Stolen Child and the Broadmeadow Estuary behind her home provides the background for The Betrayal. She has worked as a journalist and magazine editor
For more details check https://www.lauraelliotauthor.com
GUILTY by Laura Elliot
Summary
Review Date
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star
Guity Book Cover Guity
Laura Elliot
Bookouture
22/06/2017
394

It begins with a phone call. It ends with a missing child.

On a warm summer’s morning, thirteen-year-old school girl Constance Lawson is reported missing.

A few days later, Constance’s uncle, Karl Lawson, suddenly finds himself swept up in a media frenzy created by journalist Amanda Bowe implying that he is the prime suspect.

Six years later …

Karl’s life is in ruins. His marriage is over, his family destroyed. But the woman who took everything away from him is thriving. With a successful career, husband and a gorgeous baby boy, Amanda’s world is complete. Until the day she receives a phone call and in a heartbeat, she is plunged into every mother’s worst nightmare.

An utterly compelling psychological thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the TrainGone Girl and Sarah A. Denzil’s Silent Child.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This