The Word is Murder – Anthony Horowitz

The Word is Murder – Anthony Horowitz

 

I’ll start by saying this is the first book by Anthony Horowitz that I’ve read and I was gifted the book by a relative.  The word is murder is a cleverly written fictional murder mystery, when Diana Cowper walks in to a funeral parlour to plan her own funeral she ends up dead by the end of the day.  So did she know she was going to die or something more sinister afoot?  Investigating her death is Detective Hawthorne, a character it seems we are built up to dislike, he is rude, homophobic and has a high opinion of himself. 

His “sidekick” however is the real interesting part of this book, because it is the author himself and it is this character that is also the narrator of the book.  The events and story are all fictional however you do seem to become more lost in the story due to this fact and it’s easy to forget that this is fiction… I’m not going to lie I had to google to double check!

The plot is full of the twists and turns of any good murder mystery and I was taken by surprise by the discovery of the killer at the end.  I found this a very compelling story made all the more real by the interesting character / author blur.  If you are looking for a twist on the classic Whodunnit, this one is for you!  More please!

The Word is Murder Book Cover The Word is Murder
Anthony Horowitz
Arrow
19 April 2018
400

SHE PLANNED HER OWN FUNERAL. BUT DID SHE ARRANGE HER OWN MURDER?

A woman is strangled six hours after organising her own funeral.

Did she know she was going to die? Did she recognise her killer?

Daniel Hawthorne, a recalcitrant detective with secrets of his own, is on the case, together with his reluctant side-kick – a man completely unaccustomed to the world of crime.

But even Hawthorne isn't prepared for the twists and turns in store – as unexpected as they are bloody...

You Me Everything – Catherine Isaac

You Me Everything – Catherine Isaac

I’d seen this book advertised on my journey to work and was very intrigued, even more so when I heard it had been selected for the Richard & Judy book club, from which I’ve found many a favourite read.  So I was very excited when I finally managed to lay my hands on a copy of this book, and I’m pleased to say not disappointed!

Jess and her boyfriend Adam split up a few months after their baby son William was born, following a series of events that showed Adam to be a womaniser who couldn’t make it to the birth of his own son and has spent the last few years lying about where he was that night.  But William is now 10 and Jess’ mum is very ill and it is her wish for William to have a relationship with his dad.  So this is how it comes to be that William and Jess are off to spend the summer at Adam’s Chateau in France.

From the first moment of being reunited it’s clear that despite the anger Jess has towards Adam there is very much a spark remaining between them, one which she spends a long time fighting against.  I don’t want to spoil the plot of this book too much so I won’t post any spoilers in this post other than to say the reason that Jess fights that spark so high isn’t just related to the past events with Adam.

All of the main characters in the book are instantly likeable and there are moments of joy and sorrow as the plot moves on.  There are parts near the end of the book where I was genuinely moved to tears.  It’s one of those books that does make you think about life and living every moment!  5 out of 5 stars!

You Me Everything Book Cover You Me Everything
Catherine Isaac
Simon & Schuster UK
26 July 2018
Paperback
448

Jess and her ten-year-old son William set off to spend the summer at Château de Roussignol, deep in the rich, sunlit hills of the Dordogne. There, Jess’s ex-boyfriend and William’s father, Adam, runs a beautiful hotel in a restored castle. Jess is bowled over by what Adam has accomplished, but she’s in France for a much more urgent reason: to make Adam connect with his own son. Jess can’t allow Adam to let their son down because she is tormented by a secret of her own, one that nobody - especially William - must discover.

By turns life-affirming, heart-wrenching and joyful, You Me Everything is a novel about one woman's fierce determination to grab hold of the family she has and never let go, and a romantic story as heady as a crisp Sancerre on a summer day.

Something in the Water – Catherine Steadman

Something in the Water – Catherine Steadman

Erin is in a pretty good place, she’s about to marry the man of her dreams – banker Mark and is starting to film her biggest documentary to date about prison releases and has been granted exclusive access to a notorious gangster who has never agreed to be interviewed like this before. But when Mark suddenly loses his job things start to change, he snaps easily and Erin is unsure how to help him. However a few changes to their wedding plans they manage to tie the knot and head off on their exotic honeymoon, when a trip out to sea brings an unexpected discovery of a suitcase which could answer their money problems, but also could test their relationship to it’s limits.

This was a gripping plot of twists and turns and unexpected surprises, the development of Erin throughout the novel was brilliant. On starting the book you can find yourself relating to her and warm to her, but as they book goes on and she gets caught up in the mystery of the suitcase her character changes, but at the same time you continue to root for her. You’re never too sure which side of the line Erin will end up by the end of the story, or indeed which side the other characters are on but that adds to the intrigue and makes this a real page turner.

This is definitely the perfect book for those rainy summer evening or those cold winters ones! Put this on your reading list now!

Something in the Water Book Cover Something in the Water
Catherine Steadman
Simon & Schuster UK
26 July 2018
Kindle
352

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough; Mark a handsome investment banker with a bright future. They seem to have it all, until Mark loses his job and cracks start to appear in their perfect life.

But they’re determined to make it work. They book their dream honeymoon and trust that things will work out – after all, they have each other.

On the tropical island of Bora Bora Mark takes Erin scuba diving. Mark is with her – she knows he’ll keep her safe. Everything will be fine. Until they find something in the water.

Erin and Mark decide to keep their discovery a secret -- after all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events... which will endanger everything they hold dear.

Hot Pursuit – Rebecca Freeborn

Hot Pursuit – Rebecca Freeborn

If you’re looking for that perfect summer holiday getaway read I can highly recommend Rebecca Freeborn’s Hot Pursuit.
A book spanning different countries, a race against time to crack the truth of a missing (presumed dead) Indy band member, a heart broken girl and her former one night stand photographer working together on her first case as a journalist – what could possibly go wrong?
Sarah Burrowes is a kick ass chick who comes across as a determined, fearless woman who isn’t afraid of working to get what she wants. She want take rubbish from her womanising photographer, and gives as good as she gets from those trying to stop her from getting to the truth of her case. She is the perfect lead female character for this story and you’ll love her from the first page to the last.
The story is fast paced with many twists and turns right until the end – but Sarah is always at the very heart of the novel and we are reminded throughout of her vulnerability as well with the involvement of her now ex-boyfriend James.
The banter between Sarah and her photographer Nick is funny and also a wonderful look at the dynamic the 2 of them have – I couldn’t wait to see what would happen there.
Honestly grab this book now for your holiday bag, you won’t be disappointed.

Hot Pursuit Book Cover Hot Pursuit
Rebecca Freeborn
Pantera Press
28 March 2018
Kindle
275

A missing rockstar, a suspected murderer on the run, and a chase through some of the world’s most romantic destinations

Sarah Burrowes is left with a shattered heart and a huge mortgage after the love of her life abruptly runs out on her.

An aspiring journalist, Sarah spends her days slaving away at a gossip magazine—far from her dream job.

Heartbroken and fed up, Sarah decides to take her career by the reins and lands herself the assignment of a lifetime in Europe. But there’s a catch—her boss pairs her with gorgeous but egocentric photographer, Nick, who just happens to be her ex’s best friend.

But when Sarah’s assignment takes a darker turn, she discovers there’s more to this story than meets the eye. Is she ready to risk everything to get the scoop?

While I was sleeping – Dani Atkins

While I was sleeping – Dani Atkins

I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced proof copy of this book while I was at the Books In the City Spring Blogger event and I’m so glad I did.

While I was Sleeping is the story of Maddie, newly pregnant and about to marry the love of her life when tragedy strikes. Waking up in hospital Maddie knows something is different but she isn’t sure what.

I really don’t want to spoil this week so it’s very hard to review without posting spoilers, but what I can say is this book is beautifully written, you have instant connection with all the characters and are pulled into an emotional tour de force as the story progresses. I cannot praise this book highly enough – this is the best book that I have read this year and I urge you, no implore you to go out and buy this book now. You will not be disappointed!

While I was sleeping Book Cover While I was sleeping
Dani Atkins
Simon & Schuster UK
23rd August 2018
Paperback
560

A brand new and brilliant emotional family drama for fans of Jojo Moyes and Dorothy Koomson, from the bestselling author of Fractured.

I don't remember what happened or what has changed.

I can still hear your voices but you can't seem to hear me.

I was about to be married and had everything to look forward to.

Now I have to find a way back - to you, to our family, to us.

Pin It on Pinterest